E-mail not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
Senate Majority Leader Bob Duff: Your Voice

March 29, 2016

Capitol address
Legislative Office Building
Room 3300
Hartford, CT 06106-1591


On the Web

Capitol: 860-240-0414
Toll-free: 1-800-842-1420
Home: 203-840-1333

Follow me on...
RSS icon   Facebook   Twitter   flickr icon   YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Breaking News: Bipartisan Budget Agreement

Today I joined my Democratic and Republican colleagues in the Connecticut General Assembly and voted for a bipartisan budget agreement to close the Fiscal Year 2016 budget shortfall of $220 million. The compromise restores hospital funding in full, preserves town aid and protects funding for core social services.

True leadership means staying at the negotiating table, hashing things out and reaching a compromise. Today's bipartisan agreement once again demonstrates that Democrats are willing to compromise in a way where we don't abandon our principles of protecting our investments in property tax relief, community hospitals, education, transportation and the safety net. We remain committed to making long-term structural changes to benefit the hardworking families of Connecticut.

The bipartisan budget deal achieves the following:

  • Balances the 2016 budget
  • Restores all $140 million in hospital funding
  • Preserves core government services and protects funding for many vital social services
  • Defends property tax relief and preserves historic investments to cities and towns through municipal aid
  • Focuses on long-term savings with 60 percent of the budget cuts that can be used in future years.

You're receiving this newsletter because you either opted in via email or on my website, or you've been in touch with me or my office regarding an issue or issues of importance to you.

My mailing address is:
Senate Majority Leader Bob Duff, Legislative Office Building, Room 3300, Hartford, Connecticut 06106
Capitol: 860-240-0414; Toll-free: 1-800-842-1420; Home: 203-840-1333

Copyright (C) 2016 Connecticut Senate Democrats. All rights reserved.